A Grim North

Musings from a northerner living in the deep south…

Muddy Boots

Posted by Alan on February 17, 2009

This weekend I went training for Bogle. As most of you will know, I’m a long way from being a fit and healthy person, preferring a nice pint and a chat to pretty much anything else.

But! I said I would try to walk Bogle, Manchester RAG’s legendary charity walk. It’s 55 miles long and the route follows a figure of 8 centered on the UMIST campus. Many of my good friends walked it as students whilst I wussed out as a marshal – at least for Bogle 07 and 08. Most of the route is roads, therefore tarmac. My training walk on Saturday gone (a measly 4.95 miles) was mostly on muddy fields. Of course I knew this when I organised the training walk but I was mostly in it for the pint of Stout in the pub at the end of the walk. Old habits die hard and all that.

Sunday, I visited Rugby. It seems odd to think it was about 4 years go I moved there, leaving the security of Manchester behind. There are a few changes a foot which really brought home how long ago it really was. The main buildings of the old GEC/Alstom factory are finally being demolished for the new college / residential area; Threshers (my second job for 6 months) looks to be running out of last legs; and most sadly for me the Alex Arms seems to have dismantled it’s bar billiards table. If I had a garage, I’d buy it… worth £250- £750 on ebay, but would provide me with countless hours of fun!

Last photo is from outside the church in Rugby town centre, one of the first responses I’ve seen to the Atheist buses.

Finally, you can sponsor me and Ruth for our bogle mission – at http://is.gd/jSEO or http://www.justgiving.com/bogle09raap

Leave a Reply

 
