A Grim North

Musings from a northerner living in the deep south…

Lighten Up Morrissey

Posted by Alan on March 22, 2009

Just a quick post this weekend as there’s still loads of stuff to do for the week ahead.

Friday night saw me up at The Forum, Kentish Town (now dreadfully branded HMV forum) to see Sparks. It was good. Not on the level of awesome of Radiohead last year but very well executed show covering a recent album and Kimono My House, their breakthrough. Was cool to see so much energy in performers who have been working for 30 years or so..it mustn’t be easy.

Saturday, a trip up to Aylesbury to see Ruth’s relatives. Caught the second half of the England vs Scotland match with a pint of Black Sheep. Twas ok, the usual England-Scotland Rugby tie with lots of kicking and not many tries. Unfortunately had to walk out on the Wales – Ireland tie after 5 minutes but looked like it would shape up to be an exciting game.

And Sunday. Just lazing around. Nice brunch, quick walk down Leytonstone for the weekly shopping and then chores to which I must away again……..

Sparks – Lighten up Morrissey (Exotic Creatures of the Deep, 2008)

She won’t go out with me, no, she won’t go out
‘Cause my intellect’s paper thin
She won’t go out with me, no, she won’t go out
Since my intellect’s not like him

So, lighten up, Morrissey

She won’t hang out with me, no, she won’t hang out
‘Til my biting wit bites like his
She won’t hang out with me, no, she won’t hang out
‘Til my quick retort’s quick as his

So, lighten up, Morrissey? Lighten up, lighten up
Lighten up, lighten up
Lighten up, Morrissey
Lighten up, lighten up
Lighten up, Morrissey

She won’t have sex with me, no, she won’t have sex
‘Less it’s done with a pseudonym
She won’t do sport with me, no, she won’t do sport
Says it’s way, way too masculine, look at him

So, lighten up, Morrissey? Lighten up, lighten up
Lighten up, lighten up
Lighten up, Morrissey
Lighten up, lighten up
Lighten up, Morrissey

I got comparisons coming out my ears
And she never can hit the pause
If only Morrissey weren’t so Morrisseyesque
She might overlook all my flaws

So, lighten up, Morrissey
Lighten up, lighten up
So, lighten up, Morrissey
Lighten up, lighten up
Lighten up, lighten up
Lighten up, Morrissey’
Lighten up, lighten up
Lighten up, Morrissey
She won’t dine out with me, no, she won’t dine out
Says my t-bone steak is at fault
She won’t dine out with me, no, she won’t dine out
With a murderer, pass the salt

Lighten up, lighten up
Lighten up, lighten up
Lighten up, Morrissey
Lighten up, lighten up

Lighten up, lighten up
Lighten up, Morrissey
Lighten up, lighten up
Lighten up, Morrissey

Leave a Reply

 
