A Grim North

Musings from a northerner living in the deep south…

Scilly Helicopter

Posted by Alan on August 4, 2009

When we took the helicopter back from Scilly, I took the “no electronics” rule really strictly – hence the total lack of photos thus far! Instead, I took my old Fujica film SLR (STX-1 for the camera geeks) on board to play. I haven’t used the camera in a long time but after a few test shots on land over the holiday I gradually got back into the analogue world. (Not until after I’d taken an entire roll at the wrong ASA setting though… that film is going to a cheaper developer me after we move house!)

Anyway… back to the real reason for the post. Here are those photos. I have to say I am not hugely impressed with the Jessops film to CD processing, though I guess for £2 a roll you can hardly expect fabulous results.

St Mary's from the Air

St Mary's from the Air

Landfall at Lands End

Landfall at Lands End - The visitor centre and lighthouse are on the other side of the chopper...

Patchwork Quilt of Mousehole

Patchwork Quilt of Mousehole

Newlyn Harbour

Newlyn Harbour

St Michael's Mount

St Michael's Mount

Sikorsky S 61 at Long Rock Heliport, Penzance

Sikorsky S 61 at Long Rock Heliport, Penzance

The development also gave me a film back in return. So now I have 2 rolls of 200ASA in the fridge again. I suspect the STX-1 might come out to play again if we get a bit of an ‘Indian Summer’ this September…

Leave a Reply

 
