A Grim North

Musings from a northerner living in the deep south…

Pie Mash and/or Eels

Posted by Alan on June 15, 2010

Yesterday I had the day off to do a bit of cycling, exploring and photographing pubs for the local branch of CAMRA. Sadly the good weather I set off in quickly turned overcast so I’m not sure how useful many of the photographs will be – though at least one pub in Leytonstone appeared to be being demolished as I passed by!

More on the pubs will appear at my other blog, East London Drinker.

However… it did mean that I was in in the right place to sample the ‘Noted Eel and Pie House’ on Leytonstone High Road. Sadly they had run out of eels (damn!! – not) but I could get myself a pie and mash.

Noted Eel and Pie House, Leytonstone

Noted Eel and Pie House, Leytonstone

The menu is fantastically simple. You can have Pie, Mash, Pie & Mash, Eels & Mash or Eels. Ask nicely and you can have a cold soft drink to wash it down with. They also sold frozen pies for anyone wanting to recreate the experience at home. Décor within the restaurant is simple too – a mixture of chairs and benches arranged around stainless steel tables.

Simplicity is good. The pie was good – I even liked the liquor this time (perhaps I am being southern-ised after all?)

If you’re in Leytonstone between 11 and 3 this place is well worth a visit.

The Noted Eel and Pie House, Leytonstone

Noted Eel and Pie House

2 Responses to “Pie Mash and/or Eels”

  1. What’s the green stuff on and around the pie and mash?

  2. Alan P said

    It’s liquor. A southern sort-of gravy made from (well these days) flour, water and parsley. Apparently the water used to have had eel bones boiled in it. Not sure if they still do, but this liquor was OK. (I still cling to my northern roots for gravy or midlands roots for curry sauce though!)

Leave a Reply

 
