A Grim North

Musings from a northerner living in the deep south…

Speeding cyclists

Posted by Alan on October 19, 2010

Speeding cyclists, originally uploaded by Alan Perryman.

I’ve wanted to try taking panning shots for a while – the idea of inverting the speed and freezing the moving object really appeals for some reason.

I reckon this photo might be better cropped – the tour bus and pedestrian are slightly ugly intrusions into the image.

For the camera geeks, this was taken in Av mode – with the aparture opened as wide as it will go on my kit lens, the standard 18-55mm canon.

Maybe I just need to lie in way on a busy cycling thoroughfare with the 50mm fixed and see what I can do. Might have to learn a bit of patience though :-/

4 Responses to “Speeding cyclists”

  1. Nice shot. I should get someone on the back of the Yuba to take shots of other cyclists whilst moving. I will look into it

Leave a Reply

 
