A Grim North

Musings from a northerner living in the deep south…

Cycling – the Mancy Way!

Posted by Alan on June 6, 2012

When I first started cycling, I never expected to be in a position to cycle along a motorway; for obvious reasons it’s illegal!  However… this bank holiday Monday I had the fortune to stumble across a cycling event running along the Mancunian Way (A57M or Mancy Way as known locally).

Motorway

Looking up Mancunian Way towards UMIST and the west

On spotting the cyclists whizzing overhead, I thought I should get a closer look, so proceeded up the slip road just by Upper Brook St.  Very quickly I could hear someone yelling behind me. A glance over my shoulder revealed an angry looking G4S security guard running in my direction.

Man, Bike, Cider advert

I am bicycle man

Taking the hint that this wasn’t wise I stopped. Apparently the road was closed to “all vehicles” and my bike counted as a vehicle. I did protest slightly pointing at the other bicycles up on the carriageway but figured it would be easier not to get into an argument with a Scots guard.

Motorway

Overpass over London Road

Heading back through the old UMIST campus to the London Road junction I found a few more security guards.  Local lads, they were much more amenable particularly as I approached them directly to ask what it was all about and “did I need a number” to ride? They were happy enough to let me on saying the last few riders in the race (it was a charity thing organised by The Mirror) had now passed here and I could catch them up!

Motorway, UMIST

Looking back towards UMIST

So off I went, the wrong way down a motorway on my bicycle. Having cycled into Manchester already I didn’t feel the need to go too far – half a mile later I came off again headed on my merry way.

Definitely an enjoyable experience that I would have another go at given the chance, those overpasses have some interesting gradients!

2 Responses to “Cycling – the Mancy Way!”

  1. I got some pictures of riders on the Mancunian Way, but didn’t think to join them.

    Of course, I have already cycled on the Mancy Way. Once. Many, many years ago when I was young and foolish I blithely ventured onto the overpass and realised my mistake very quickly. I got off at the next sliproad.

  2. Rodge. said

    I’m doing the Bradford Skyride on July 1st, looking forward to riding in the middle of some dual carriageways myself. 🙂

Leave a comment